Page 2 of 2

Posted: 2005-09-20, 08:28
by christy10
anything could be better than the emulated version-it goes real slow :f

Posted: 2006-01-03, 11:12
by ProBus
d3vilsadvocate wrote:I'd be glad try this, but rather with the Dos Z version that runs on Winxp (see my other thread) than with Dosbox. I won't have time till the 11th of october (end of exams), but after that I'd like to try this out. I'm pretty sure that it will work much better with a non emulated version.

if anyone is interested and has msn, add me:
line6rules@hotmail.com
This would be fine!
Thank you.

I can't program or understand network very good, but I hope I can help you, so I added you to my msn messenger list.

Posted: 2006-02-18, 11:13
by Eastwind
Sound interresting but it s just for Z classic , not Z95 and Extension ?

Maybe can we use other software of VPN running under WIN 95 , 98 , me ... for playing the funniest version of Zed : 95 & Extension ??

Is it possible ? Some Idea ?

The Manual sayd if you play on Lan you just need 1 CD on pc , all other PC needn't run their Zed CD . So when create VPN it s a LAN , and we just can use Virtual CD for emulate the CDROM on 1 machine of all of player .

Posted: 2006-02-26, 12:20
by antosch
zzone does not exists

Re: Play Z DOS multiplayer over the Internet!

Posted: 2006-07-02, 18:36
by CarlosZ
dark_helmet wrote:Play Z DOS multiplayer over the Internet!

NOTE: this is still expermental, but beserk3r and i managed to squese of a game over the internet. Be warned It's laggy.

The Proccedure

1. Download and Install Hamachi from http://www.hamachi.cc

2. Create a nick and join the network 'zzone' with the password 'brad'

3. Make sure you have DOSbox version 0.63 or greater. Open the Dosbox config file and scroll down untill you find 'ipx=false' and set it to 'ipx=true'
I can't even find the ipx on the the Dosbox conf file. I have version 0.65

Any suggestions? Should I add the ipx=true somehwere? If so, where?

Posted: 2006-07-06, 21:15
by t0rl@1
pls somebody help!!!
I have DOSBox 0.65 and set IPX=true but when i type IPXNET STARTSERVER in dosbox it says Illegal Command IPXNET!
What should i do????? :?: :?: :?: :?:

Posted: 2006-07-07, 01:31
by KISSMAD
t0rl@1 wrote:pls somebody help!!!
I have DOSBox 0.65 and set IPX=true but when i type IPXNET STARTSERVER in dosbox it says Illegal Command IPXNET!
What should i do????? :?: :?: :?: :?:
I'm not an expert on IPX. Maybe type IPX instead of IPXNET.

Have you used this.
This is how I got Z to work on XP
:)

Posted: 2006-07-23, 17:09
by lumina
Well someone needs to be I can't get it to work either despite following all directions.... lol

Guide needs to be bug proof i can not even make a lan game using it.. lol

My problem is I can get one PC to start network however the second can not connect to the IP shown on Hamachi...

Posted: 2006-08-11, 15:22
by blackhawk
Where can i get the original Z? The DOS version? I got a stupid Windows version, thats in german :x :evil:!!!!
Plus, the network gaming doesnt works AT ALL! I press IPX - poof gone Z. DARN!

Re: Play Z DOS multiplayer over the Internet!

Posted: 2006-09-17, 10:33
by dark_helmet
sorry for the late reply. i have not been around in a long time. better late than never
CarlosZ wrote:
dark_helmet wrote:Play Z DOS multiplayer over the Internet!

NOTE: this is still expermental, but beserk3r and i managed to squese of a game over the internet. Be warned It's laggy.

The Proccedure

1. Download and Install Hamachi from http://www.hamachi.cc

2. Create a nick and join the network 'zzone' with the password 'brad'

3. Make sure you have DOSbox version 0.63 or greater. Open the Dosbox config file and scroll down untill you find 'ipx=false' and set it to 'ipx=true'
I can't even find the ipx on the the Dosbox conf file. I have version 0.65

Any suggestions? Should I add the ipx=true somehwere? If so, where?
It should still be there with DOSbox 0.65

If you still can not find it add the following lines to the end of you config file:
[ipx]
ipx=true

t0rl@1 wrote:pls somebody help!!!
I have DOSBox 0.65 and set IPX=true but when i type IPXNET STARTSERVER in dosbox it says Illegal Command IPXNET!
What should i do????? :?: :?: :?: :?:
I just tried DOSbox 0.65. IPXNET STARTSERVER works fine. Check that you are using the correct config file.

lumina wrote:Well someone needs to be I can't get it to work either despite following all directions.... lol

Guide needs to be bug proof i can not even make a lan game using it.. lol

My problem is I can get one PC to start network however the second can not connect to the IP shown on Hamachi...
Wait, are you trying to use Hamachi over a lan? That should still work fine as hamachi realises the difference between a local connection and a wider connection, but try it without hamachi. Ive done this a few times and DOSbox seems to have no problems selecting the correct adapter to connect to the other computer. I do use windows 2000 PC's though. Try disabling windows firewall.

Posted: 2006-12-09, 13:07
by The_Drummer
Ok, so after a few tries, I've finally got it working ;) But, it's just not playable - theres soooo much lag! It stops every few seconds to reconnect, and everytimne you issue an order it takes forever for it to sink in! Is there anyway to improve it? I'm trying it over LAN, me and my dad, but its too laggy - anything I can do?

Maybe its just my Dads laptop, does anyone else want a game? Add me on MSN (but don't email me on this address)
thebongmeister-infamy@yahoo.co.uk

Thanks a lot =]

Re: Play Z DOS multiplayer over the Internet!

Posted: 2009-11-13, 00:45
by Ulfar
please help me establish connection using Hamachi or any other programme i beg u help :(
I tryed hamachi but failed any ideas?