How to play Z online?

Place gaming and strategy issues for the original "Z" and the Expansion Kit "Z95" here.

Moderator: Brad

Post Reply
Ulfar
Sniper
Sniper
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-10-24, 02:36
Skype: KARWILK
Are you a spam bot?: No

How to play Z online?

Post by Ulfar » 2009-10-24, 20:35

hello I have read the forum carefuly, and there is no instruction how to play Z online, I dont mean LAN network. I have read that it is possible to play Z by using hemachi programme, i have downloaded it ragistered i have found sone users by the forum, i am logged at Z951v1 , ZOD1, and zonline 1on1 servers but there is no one to play with and i don't know how to do this.
Please help I am a big fan of Z from many years.
Regards

Ulfar from Poland
Meeky
Captain
Captain
Posts: 137
Joined: 2009-02-05, 11:18
Location: Russia

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by Meeky » 2009-10-25, 07:29

Hello, Ulfar!
To join the network you need to know its name and the password. But I guess, you are doing all right. The problem is that there is no one to play with. You have to invite people to play beforehand...
WinZMod - mod for playing Z with high screen resolution
ZEdMod - ZEditor mod allowing to edit single player levels
ZGFX - Utility for extracting Z graphic
ZStats - Small utility for fine-tuning unit statistics
Z-Remake - XNA project on 2D IceCream Engine
Ulfar
Sniper
Sniper
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-10-24, 02:36
Skype: KARWILK
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by Ulfar » 2009-10-25, 14:00

But when i do so then what?
Someone who is using hemachi has to turn on Z and then i have to do this to ?
then i choose playing Z by local network or what ?
gluglu81
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2009-10-25, 16:50
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by gluglu81 » 2009-10-26, 22:03

when you do so, then you know there is a friend online to connect to...
yes, shure some has to turn on hamachi & Z due the same time as you to get a connection.
yes you can choose it as local network.


If you play in the same network you can also use IPXNET command from the dosbox to make a LAN connection...
maybe you have to choose this setting also to use Hamachi... i am not sure...

I know there is HOW TO for using Hamachi & Z in this Forum, but you got to search by yourself :lazy:
Ulfar
Sniper
Sniper
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-10-24, 02:36
Skype: KARWILK
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by Ulfar » 2009-11-12, 22:37

Ok I can ping my friend and everything looks ok..
But we can;t see each other while establishing the game...
Anybody knows what might be the reason?
Meeky
Captain
Captain
Posts: 137
Joined: 2009-02-05, 11:18
Location: Russia

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by Meeky » 2009-11-14, 08:02

Ulfar wrote:Ok I can ping my friend and everything looks ok..
But we can;t see each other while establishing the game...
Anybody knows what might be the reason?
First of all, make sure both of you have the same patch level (to ensure this you both can install my mod).
Then follow this Basic guide, paying attention to re-prioritizing your network adapter order.

Good luck!
WinZMod - mod for playing Z with high screen resolution
ZEdMod - ZEditor mod allowing to edit single player levels
ZGFX - Utility for extracting Z graphic
ZStats - Small utility for fine-tuning unit statistics
Z-Remake - XNA project on 2D IceCream Engine
Ulfar
Sniper
Sniper
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-10-24, 02:36
Skype: KARWILK
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: How to play Z online?

Post by Ulfar » 2009-11-18, 15:24

I have already done this we have your patch and the same version of the game
(1.7 beta)

Hamachi is our primary connection and 5.0.0.1 gateway is set.

And it still doesn't work...
I can ping my friend and he can ping me but we cant connect by the TCP/IP protocol in the "Multiplayer" section in the menu.
Any ideas how to make it work? Meeky maybe we will meet on ICG and do this step by step?
please help
MY ICQ number: 558058457
Post Reply