Page 3 of 4

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-13, 10:19
by pjtr
Antares wrote: What exactly is satisfied that, I attached "hot plugin". What would use it, you need to have patch version 1.7 beta. Just unzip the file into a directory with the patch and run. If my conclusions are correct, then you will not receive an error message, the game just closes.
Yes, when I use the 1.7b version of Your patch and the hotpatch You have provided, I do not receive any error message and the game closes. My compliments :)
Antares wrote: I seem to understand the problem, perhaps you have installed on your notebook, two video-chips, one simple to save battery life and display the desktop, and other graphics accelerator NVS 140M.
When I check the hardware of my system, the only thing I can find is the NVS graphic card, and no other. Maybe there is a second chip on board of that card, but it certainly not displayed. So it may be more a graphic card problem, then?

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-13, 14:08
by Antares
only thing I can find is the NVS graphic card, and no other
Try to look back in "information about the system". Start -> All Programs -> Standarts -> Utilities -> Information about the system - Components -> Display. Where all available information about the graphics hardware.
So it may be more a graphic card problem, then?
Of course. I'm trying to understand whether it was possible to remedy this situation, or where all the harder.

I added a function definition video adapter. In the near future, I will give it to you, but now look to the recommendations above.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-14, 13:39
by pjtr
Hello Antares,

it was under start\all programs\accessoires\system tools\system information. I have just one video card. Text file attached.

Thanks for looking into the subject.

Piotr

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-14, 20:20
by Antares
All, I finally understand your problem. If you press WIN + R and then enter "dxdiag", click a tab on the screen, you'll see that something like this:

Device Name: NVidia Quadro NVS 140m
Driver DDI Version: unknown
DirectDraw Acceleration: N/A
Direct3D Acceleration: N/A
AGP Texture Acceleration: N/A

All that can advise in this case, it is to upgrade the video driver. If this does not help, write a letter threat manufacturer.

More information can be found when typing in the search engines - "NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M DirectDraw".

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-14, 22:53
by Optimus Prime
where can i find the whole game Z to download on the mainpage? i only find some patches and so on....

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-16, 12:58
by pjtr
Antares:
Antares wrote:All, I finally understand your problem. If you press WIN + R and then enter "dxdiag", click a tab on the screen, you'll see that something like this:
Well, I checked it with Dxdiag. Surprisingly, Directdraw did work. I attached the dxdiag output file. If I am not wrong, there is no problem with my drivers. However, I do understand that You do not have the time to make software support for one person.

Thank You for Your efforts in trying to help me out :)

Optimus Prime: Try to check out the forums. I remember that I have downloaded the ISO (cd image file) from rapidshare. But that was already a long time ago. Try also piratebay, or other search engines. I would set up a torrent with the image, but since this one would be a very short lived one and not many people would seed, I am not sure that it makes much sense.

Piotr

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-16, 14:56
by Antares
No, No, I'm interested to understand this. I can not understand why the game does not get the desired handle. You have still the old game, for example "Heroes of Might and Magic III"? try to run them, whether they will work for you. In all of these games use the same initialization, I need a hook.

I have privately sent you a new version of the patch.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-16, 18:50
by Optimus Prime
i downloaded an paket:

Z+ Z95 expansion Vista+XP.rar

there is a .iso
and a .exe ( z95forXP_by_YoMommaNL_1.1.msi)

when i installed it, i have problems with the savegames etc..

may could i only startet the .iso and then do the tutorial with the dosbox, so that i dont use that z95forXP_by_YoMommaNL_1.1.msi ???

thx

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-16, 23:52
by pjtr
Optimus Prime wrote:i downloaded an paket:

Z+ Z95 expansion Vista+XP.rar

thx
Hello Optimus,

now you got the ISO file, check a link in a posting of mine in this thread. There, You will find Antares Z Expansion.
Mount the ISO with Demontools, and execute the setup file of the Z Expansion. In most cases this will give You Z working.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-16, 23:53
by pjtr
Antares: Allright, I will reinstall Z and check Your patch then and test it.

Error log attached. The windows manager could not be started for some reason, it seems.

p.s.: I have also attached a second error log with Vista Aero beeing deactivated (winerror_17b2_ii.rar). Probably a test which did not make any sense.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-17, 18:01
by pjtr
Antares:

Here are the results of the last test runs.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-18, 23:59
by pjtr
Hello Antares,

attached are the latest results.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-19, 13:27
by Antares
In the list of supported your card resolution is not 640x480. The minimum value 720?480. To check, I attach a small test program that displays the standard rotating Bublik in the resolution of that game. It should also lead to error if the problem in resolution. In your case, the game is available only in windowed mode. Error that you have seen in windowed mode, I have already eliminated. Soon I place publicly second beta.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-20, 00:09
by pjtr
Hello Antares,

when I exectute the program, it tells me the "DirectDraw Initialization failed". If hope this is the expected error. From the error log, it seems so, but I am not sure :)

Error log attached. Cheers.

Re: Z Expansion and Windows Vista

Posted: 2009-01-20, 01:42
by Antares
No, the logs are not needed, everything is already clear. The reason why I have described in the previous message. You will not be no game in full-screen mode, which uses DirectDraw in resolution 640x480. This game can be run only in the window (if they supported such a possibility).

Now you can play in version 1.6.5, with the key - /w3d