Z over internet

Post any issues here having to do with playing, installating or configuration of the game.

Moderator: Brad

Post Reply
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Z over internet

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-03, 21:24

I have Z. It runs under XP with Dosbox.

I ve also installed Hamachi and it seems to be ruunning ok.

Now what do i have to do play Z ?


IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED :-)

thanks

Sam
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: Z over internet

Post by CHYROS » 2007-03-03, 22:58

Hello Sam, and welcome to the forums.

I see you've created four identical posts in four topics. One post is more than enough to notify people; believe me; it won't be overlooked. If you're a first time user of forums; no sweat ;) , this is just forum practice; four posts is generally regarded annoying spam. I'm taking the liberty of removing the other posts you made.
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Sorry for the trouble

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-04, 15:38

The fact is I really want to play at the dos game Z with dosbox through Hamachi.
It runs ok in solo mode.

I learned that Hamachi was a good way to play Z in multiplayer so i installed it.

Now i m looking for some1 who has already played the dos game Z with dosbox and Hamachi.

Also seeking a Hamachi server dedicated to Z.

When i try to start a network game Z is always saying "Network connection failed".

I'm behind a Livebox, is it the problem ?

Thanks

Sam
Last edited by Sam67 on 2014-08-24, 12:31, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
buman
Major
Major
Posts: 169
Joined: 2006-12-02, 00:50
Location: Germany

Post by buman » 2007-03-04, 15:52

Welcome to the forums :cheers:
1.Which version of dosbox did you install (0.63 is the best i think , cause 0.65 gives more sync-problems and that?s kind of annoying)?
2.Did you try to play "against yourself"?
Here a short tutorial to do this:

a)Hamachi:
Start Hamachi , you should see your own hamachi-IP at the top of the hamachi-window.

b)dosbox:
Copy your dosbox-folder and paste it anywhere you want to.
Run both of the dosbox.exes. If it?s fullscreen , press [Alt]+[Enter] to switch to halfscreen. Now you should see the 2 dosbox-windows.

Type "ipxnet startserver" into the first box and "ipxnet connect [IP]" into the other. [IP] means your hamachi-IP (so that you connect to yourself).

If the connection was successful type "z" into both boxes to run Z.

c)ingame:
go to multiplayer, enter a different name for each of the boxes (like "CPU1" and "CPU2" and click "connect". There should be a message like "connection established".
Then one of the box can press "start" and the game starts.

You?re now playing against yourself ;) , so , usually ,it?ll work against others , too.
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Illegal command : ipxnet

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-04, 16:21

when, at the dosbox prompt, i type ipxnet startserver
Dosbox says
Illegal command : ipxnet

It may be easier to help me via Windows Messenger.
What's ur adress ?
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-04, 16:50

I can play Z online !

I had a dosbox that didnt know the command ipxnet
i got the 0.63 and it'ok
great
now ... to find a player
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

thank u !!

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-04, 16:51

thank u !!
User avatar
buman
Major
Major
Posts: 169
Joined: 2006-12-02, 00:50
Location: Germany

Post by buman » 2007-03-04, 21:07

Did you just have make 3 posts to say this?
See: There is an [edit]butten , and if you want to say something new before anyone else did (so that your post is the newest) ypu?re supposed to klick on [edit] and don?t make another post.

So: Did you finally start a match against youself? So , were you able to command red robots in one and blue robots in the other window?

I would help you over ICQ but I do not have that much time atm.

Edit: Just by the way: Where are you from? you do not seem to be very "english" (and not very old) , right?
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-04, 21:41

I manage to play against myself .
Excuse my mistakes. I am not using forum very often.

i m a 26 years old french guy.
were u far from this ?

my english looks so young ?
User avatar
buman
Major
Major
Posts: 169
Joined: 2006-12-02, 00:50
Location: Germany

Post by buman » 2007-03-05, 00:47

You?re very active , huh?^^
Oh from France....that explanes everything ^^
no just a joke, see, I?m just 16 years old ;)
And my english isn?t that good , so I can?t say how good or bad yours is.
Btw: I?d like to play against you , I sent you my icq number via PM...

You did not say by now if you got what I wrote about the "try to play against yourself"-thing...
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Allright

Post by Sam67 » 2007-03-05, 11:39

I made a copy of dosbox dir

I started one dosbox.exe and type IPXNET STARTSERVER

other one with ipxnet connect <hamachi ip>

In the game, i sent a unit of Psychos red to a flag and a unit of Psychos blue too

Now for myself it's ok

don't know with a distant pc

we ll see
User avatar
Sam67
Pyro
Pyro
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-03-03, 14:22
Location: France

Re: Z over internet

Post by Sam67 » 2014-08-20, 10:05

I tried the Buman's method to play against myself but I had to bring it a little update since the last Dosbox use a single conf file it's with the -conf parameter.
If it's of any help that's what I've done:

a)Hamachi:
Start Hamachi , you should see your own hamachi-IP at the top of the hamachi-window.

b)dosbox:
The conf file is located in the appdata folder of Windows:
C:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\DOSBox
Duplicate the original conf giving a new name to it.
One will be the server with the famous "ipxnet startserver" line at the bottom, the other will connect to the server with the also famous "ipxnet connect Hamachi IP" line.

Create a shorcut of your Dosbox.exe which will be the IPX server.The Target should be "C:\Program Files (x86)\DOSBox-0.74\DOSBox.exe"
Create a 2nd shorcut of the dosbox.exe, right click on it and edit its property and there the Target must be "C:\Program Files (x86)\DOSBox-0.74\DOSBox.exe" -conf C:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\DOSBox\dosbox-0.74_connect2.conf. which will be the client
Launch the 2 shorcut, run Z and then use the common way to launch a Network game.
c)ingame:
go to multiplayer, enter a different name for each of the boxes (like "CPU1" and "CPU2" and click "connect". There should be a message like "connection established".
Then one of the box can press "start" and the game starts.

If it?s fullscreen , press [Alt]+[Enter] to switch to halfscreen. Now you should see the 2 dosbox-windows.

You?re now playing against yourself ;) , so , usually ,it?ll work against others , too.
I wish I knew the tin can who blew up the bridge.
Post Reply