This is how I got Z (not z95) to work on XP

Post any issues here having to do with playing, installating or configuration of the game.

Moderator: Brad

User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 11:21

The_Drummer wrote:It works, but it still comes up with main.pac is missing. I installed the game to C:\Z, and the CDs contents are in C:\Z\CD. My two CD drives are Y and Z - and I've tried Y, Z, y, z, but it still isn't working...

btw, when I opened the Z.BAT, it had this:

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:X /yesuv %1 %2 %3 %4 %5

I have no idea why the yesuv was there... I deleted it, is it essential to run the game?

(btw, the version of DOSbox I'm using is v0.65)

Thanks. :)

Sesning a breakthrough here!
After you have changed the CD letter, remove the /yesuv and see what happens. I've never come across the /yesuv before.
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 11:30

I've tried Y, Z, y, and z for the CD drive - but it still isn't working... still says it can't find main.pac ...

:(
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 11:36

The_Drummer wrote:I've tried Y, Z, y, and z for the CD drive - but it still isn't working... still says it can't find main.pac ...

:(
Did you remove the /yesuv from the z.bat file?
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 11:38

Yep. it now reads

Code: Select all

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:Y %1 %2 %3 %4 %5
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
RavenTS
Major
Major
Posts: 194
Joined: 2006-03-20, 13:27
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by RavenTS » 2006-06-04, 11:41

The_Drummer wrote:I've tried Y, Z, y, and z for the CD drive - but it still isn't working... still says it can't find main.pac ...

:(
So you mean, you tell DOSBox that there is a CD-ROM-Drive with letter D and this shows onto your folder Z?! Then tey it with "Z\CD" or just copy all the stuff into one directory on the local side, like "C:\CD"

Edit: Seen you?ve done it...
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 11:43

The_Drummer wrote:Yep. it now reads

Code: Select all

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:Y %1 %2 %3 %4 %5
Have you tried D as your CD drive letter?
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 11:46

Yep...

Already done it... this is wher I am now (to clear up any confusion ;))

Z is installed in C:\Z
The CDs contents is copied into C:\Z\CD
The two CD drives are Y and Z (Y is what usually plays games, but Z is a DVD-RW drive)
This is what it reads in Z.BAT:

Code: Select all

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:Y %1 %2 %3 %4 %5
This is what it reads under the autoexec in dosbox.conf:

Code: Select all

mount C C:\Z

mount E C:\Z\CD -t cdrom
C: 
cd\
cd \
call Z.BAT
And it still says that main.pac is missing...

Maybe if anyone comes across with this problem, then this'll help them get Z running ;)


EDIT: In reply to KISSMAD, D isn't my CD drive. But I'll try.
EDIT2: Nope. D doesn't work. Also, the C:\Z\CD doesn't work.
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
RavenTS
Major
Major
Posts: 194
Joined: 2006-03-20, 13:27
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by RavenTS » 2006-06-04, 11:50

The_Drummer wrote:Yep...

Already done it... this is wher I am now (to clear up any confusion ;))

Z is installed in C:\Z
The CDs contents is copied into C:\Z\CD
The two CD drives are Y and Z (Y is what usually plays games, but Z is a DVD-RW drive)
This is what it reads in Z.BAT:

Code: Select all

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:Y %1 %2 %3 %4 %5
This is what it reads under the autoexec in dosbox.conf:

Code: Select all

mount C C:\Z

mount E C:\Z\CD -t cdrom
C: 
cd\
cd \
call Z.BAT
And it still says that main.pac is missing...

Maybe if anyone comes across with this problem, then this'll help them get Z running ;)


EDIT: In reply to KISSMAD, D isn't my CD drive. But I'll try.
EDIT2: Nope. D doesn't work. Also, the C:\Z\CD doesn't work.
Y and Z are your optical drives in Windows?! So they do not have anything to do with your attempts playing Z?! Or have you ever tried it with both of them and your CD.?!
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 11:53

The_Drummer wrote:Yep...

Already done it... this is wher I am now (to clear up any confusion ;))

Z is installed in C:\Z
The CDs contents is copied into C:\Z\CD
The two CD drives are Y and Z (Y is what usually plays games, but Z is a DVD-RW drive)
This is what it reads in Z.BAT:

Code: Select all

@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:Y %1 %2 %3 %4 %5
This is what it reads under the autoexec in dosbox.conf:

Code: Select all

mount C C:\Z

mount E C:\Z\CD -t cdrom
C: 
cd\
cd \
call Z.BAT
And it still says that main.pac is missing...

Maybe if anyone comes across with this problem, then this'll help them get Z running ;)


EDIT: In reply to KISSMAD, D isn't my CD drive. But I'll try.
EDIT2: Nope. D doesn't work. Also, the C:\Z\CD doesn't work.
I don't know if this will work but it's worth a try.

Code: Select all

mount E C:\Z\CD -t cdrom 
C: 
cd\ 
cd \ 
call Z.BAT
to

Code: Select all

mount Y C:\Z\CD -t cdrom 
C: 
cd\ 
cd \ 
call Z.BAT
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 11:55

Changed it... and... guess what...

it didn't work :empty:
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 11:58

The_Drummer wrote:Changed it... and... guess what...

it didn't work :empty:
Weird. I don't know what the problem could be.
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 12:02

Any other ways of working Z?
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 12:02

Why are you CD drives Y and Z?
User avatar
The_Drummer
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 99
Joined: 2006-06-03, 20:15
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Post by The_Drummer » 2006-06-04, 12:03

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure. I'm running on my dads PC ;) I suppose they just... are.
I'm afraid the server z game 2 is full. However, I have set up two more:-

For Z95 players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: Z95!
Password: Tom
For DOSBox-Z players ONLY!!!, use:
Name: DOSBox-Z!
Password: Tom
Have fun!
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 340
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Post by KISSMAD » 2006-06-04, 12:04

The_Drummer wrote:Any other ways of working Z?
Yes, install a dual boot system so that you can have XP and another windows that can play Z. :lol:
Post Reply