Decrypting

Ideas, technology and contributions to Z modifications

Moderator: Brad

Parlamenter

Decrypting

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-06-24, 22:44

Hello, All!
Happy New Year!

If you have problems to start Original Z then point on what step did it crush.
I spent a lot of time to force Z95 up on XP and got lose. It uses some pre DirectX thing ? WinG and it's very difficult to run on XP. I have the crush step at loading level (heh? I can see mults and use menu but with wrong language). I decided to choose Original Z. It has best balance of unit and it runs on any dos environment (and emulators). I'm working on the decryption of Z structures and have interesting results. I decrypt and get two new units: Truck and Fire Truck. They are not useful but funny to have it and command to it. I didn't find Oil Truck now. :) Now I can change startup units of man player. I want port Z95 levels to Original Z and redesign Z.
I work on Z in my free time. If you are interesting in my gob then join me.

P.S. Sorry for my English. You can write to me on Russian.
User avatar
cherockee
Laser
Laser
Posts: 32
Joined: 2005-06-28, 23:51
Location: Hungary

Postby cherockee » 2005-06-29, 00:01

interested, but i sent you a mail before....cherockee (a) freemail.hu - say a word in mail if you need help....
User avatar
Eastwind
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 89
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:22

truck and fire truck screenshot ?

Postby Eastwind » 2005-07-06, 05:49

If you can send a screenshot of truck and fire truck it will enlight us :)
User avatar
dark_helmet
Tough
Tough
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-06-27, 09:22
Location: floating around space

Postby dark_helmet » 2005-07-06, 14:34

hey good work there! and your english is not too bad eiteher. (heck i cant spell)

I did enjoy the unit speed's / balances pre-expansion more and would also really enjoy playing the expansion levels under DOS.

I was having a poke around with renaming the level folders and mounting virtual images of the renamed folders (ie, changing an expansion level to level01 ) but havn't got too much of that done.

keep up the good work
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-07-21, 03:04

So, any progression? ;)
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-21, 10:41

I'm again with you!
After a strip of problems I have returned to reengineering Zed. After crash of a disk has survived only one file, but the most important. It is good. :lol:
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

The File :-)

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-22, 07:37

Code: Select all

// --[LEVELS.DAT]--

// D Programming Language - http://digitalmars.com/d/index.html

module z.dat.levels;

typedef char[13] file_name	= "filename.ext\0"

enum terrain : ubyte
{
	Desert		= 0x00;
	Arctic		= 0x01;
	City		= 0x02;
	Volcanic	= 0x03;
	Jungle		= 0x04;
}
static assert(terrain.sizeof	== ubyte.sizeof);
static assert(terrain.min	== terrain.Desert);
static assert(terrain.max	== terrain.Jungle);

enum unit : ubyte
{
	Gun		= 0x00;
	Medium		= 0x01;
	Grunt		= 0x02;
	Tough		= 0x03;
	Sniper		= 0x04;
	Heavy		= 0x05;
	Psychos		= 0x06;
	Light		= 0x07;
	Missile		= 0x08;
	M_Missile	= 0x09;
	Gattling	= 0x0A;
	Jeep		= 0x0B;
	Truck		= 0x0C;
	A_P_C		= 0x0D;
	Howitzer	= 0x0E;
	Fire_Truck	= 0x0F;
	Crane		= 0x10;
	Pyros		= 0x11;
	Laser		= 0x12;
	
	Empty		= 0xFF;
}
static assert(unit.sizeof	== ubyte.sizeof);
static assert(unit.min		== unit.Gun);
static assert(unit.max		== unit.Empty);


struct level_def
{
	char[20] level_name	= "Virgin Soldiers\0";

	file_name level_map	= "level01.map\0";
	file_name robots_dat	= "robots.dat\0";
	file_name ai_dat	= "cpuplr01.dat\0";
	file_name preset_1_wal	= "preset2.wal\0";
	file_name preset_2_wal	= "preset1.wal\0";

	unit[12] player_units	= [Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty,
				   Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty, Empty];

	file_name object_dat	= "object01.dat\0";

	terrain	map_type	= terrain.Desert;
	file_name mult_dat	= "mult.dat\0";
	ubyte[8] unknown	= [0x10, 0x27, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10, 0x27, 0x00, 0x00];	// WTF?

	file_name build_dat	= "build01.dat\0";
	file_name bridge_dat	= "bridge01.dat\0";

	ubyte[82] empty_space	= [0x00];
}
static assert(level_def.sizeof	== 240);

level_def[51] levels_file;
static assert(levels_file.sizeof	== 12240);
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-22, 07:52

In game press Ctrl+W
What doses this numbers mean anybody know? :)

And an addition... maybe old file version (unchecked):

Code: Select all

// --[DOOR.PAC]-- 

file_name:		DOOR.PAC

sizeof(DOOR.PAC):		77 958 bytes

0x00:	ubyte[4] magic_number	= 0x00000000;

-0x03:	ubyte[4] file_id	= "JMP2";

-0x07:	uint files_in_peackage	= 0x0A	// 10

struct packed_file_id
{
	char[16] file_name;
	uint offset;
	uint length;

};
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-07-22, 11:04

Parlamenter wrote:In game press Ctrl+W
What doses this numbers mean anybody know? :)

And an addition... maybe old file version (unchecked):

Code: Select all

// --[DOOR.PAC]-- 

file_name:		DOOR.PAC

sizeof(DOOR.PAC):		77 958 bytes

0x00:	ubyte[4] magic_number	= 0x00000000;

-0x03:	ubyte[4] file_id	= "JMP2";

-0x07:	uint files_in_peackage	= 0x0A	// 10

struct packed_file_id
{
	char[16] file_name;
	uint offset;
	uint length;

};
Good work!

I don't see anything when pressing ctrl+w when playing, or should I do it in the menu?
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-22, 12:02

BERSERK3R wrote: I don't see anything when pressing ctrl+w when playing, or should I do it in the menu?
In the Z(DOS) 1 col of 4 rows is showing.

PAC files are the Thing :-)
They keep LBM files which is more complex foormated.
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-07-22, 13:37

Parlamenter wrote:
BERSERK3R wrote: I don't see anything when pressing ctrl+w when playing, or should I do it in the menu?
In the Z(DOS) 1 col of 4 rows is showing.
can you make a screenshot?
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-22, 14:30

How?
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-07-22, 19:19

When in dosbox, press alt printscreen then paste in paint or photoshop or something.
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-22, 22:30

I?m never use dosbox and other emulators with Z. I can start Z on any platform (win9x, 2000, xp). I don?t like emulators :)
Don?t be lazy ? use pure things! :-P

Ctrl+W is not ER ;-)
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Postby CHYROS » 2006-01-28, 18:27

You can always make a screenshot with alt+printscreen, even in Whinedows. In DOSBox, you make 'em with ctrl+F5, which is easier (you don't need to paste).
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest