Where to Download ZEditor?

Ideas, technology and contributions to Z modifications

Moderator: Brad

Kantare
Grunt
Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-06-29, 13:05

Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby Kantare » 2008-06-30, 19:32

Hello, great Forum here. I´m new, and i have a question. Where i can Download the ZEditor? I looked at many therad´s, but i don´t find the link. Much links are "inactive", too...

Thanks, Kantare
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby CHYROS » 2008-06-30, 22:44

Welcome to the forum! :cheers:

The ZEditor comes standard with Z95.
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
BallWin
Major
Major
Posts: 195
Joined: 2006-10-24, 02:24
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby BallWin » 2008-07-01, 15:27

Kantare wrote:Hello, great Forum here. I´m new, and i have a question. Where i can Download the ZEditor? I looked at many therad´s, but i don´t find the link. Much links are "inactive", too...

Thanks, Kantare
Unoff ModPak for Z:
-- ZEditor (en, ru) and necessary folders
-- ZTools v. 093
-- Help ZEditor (ru)
-- Help ZTools (en, ru)
-- New option ZTools 092 (ru)
-- Help "Modding Z" (ru)

Size 1,7 Mb. Download

Note: Works independently. There is no necessity to establish game.
To establish a mode of the screen - 16 K colours.
Last edited by BallWin on 2008-07-20, 12:02, edited 1 time in total.
Kantare
Grunt
Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-06-29, 13:05

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby Kantare » 2008-07-01, 16:19

Ah, thanks than. I installed z95 too, and there is it :P

Can i take it for z (normal) too? Or only z95?

Thanks for your help ;)
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby Zen » 2008-07-02, 01:16

Kantare wrote:Can i take it for z (normal) too? Or only z95?
Map files are identical as far as I know. You can insert a modded map in Z DOS. The only thing that is important is that you replace it with the same type of area. Meaning you must replace a desert map with a desert map, city map with a city map etc... Otherwise graphics will go crazy.
Unfortunately I do not know if the AI (computer enemy) works in Z DOS with new maps. I only played my own map for testing in multiplayer mode. I even played level 20 in multiplayer ;)
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
BallWin
Major
Major
Posts: 195
Joined: 2006-10-24, 02:24
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby BallWin » 2008-07-02, 10:13

Zen wrote:
Kantare wrote:Can i take it for z (normal) too? Or only z95?
Map files are identical as far as I know.
It is not true.
The size of a map for Z(DOS) = 55 kB
The size of a map for Z95 = 20 kB
You can open any maps Z (DOS) in ZEditor. However you can not keep them in a format Z (DOS).
ZEditor always keeps maps in a format Z95.
Zen wrote:You can insert a modded map in Z DOS. The only thing that is important is that you replace it with the same type of area. Meaning you must replace a desert map with a desert map, city map with a city map etc... Otherwise graphics will go crazy.
Unfortunately I do not know if the AI (computer enemy) works in Z DOS with new maps. I only played my own map for testing in multiplayer mode. I even played level 20 in multiplayer ;)
It works only for old levels in Z95.

To draw new maps for Z (DOS) it is impossible. It is possible to modify levels with the help ZTools.
Kantare
Grunt
Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-06-29, 13:05

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby Kantare » 2008-07-02, 15:19

Ah ok, thanks. I try to make a map on there, but i can´t open any map. Every time the mistake come:

There are no slots available for loading.
Please read the manual or see help for more information.


Can you help me here? Thanks than ;)
BallWin
Major
Major
Posts: 195
Joined: 2006-10-24, 02:24
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby BallWin » 2008-07-02, 20:29

Kantare wrote:Ah ok, thanks. I try to make a map on there, but i can´t open any map. Every time the mistake come:

There are no slots available for loading.
Please read the manual or see help for more information.



Can you help me here? Thanks than ;)
Some preparation is necessary before you can load original levels.
-------------------------------
Step by step
-------------------------------
1. To create an empty level in ZEditor:
-- Start up a ZEditor
-- Press "Save"
-- Press OK in window-warning "The Z Editor DX"
-- To choose the top line in a window "Save Level As...", to fill in a field "Name", to press the button "SAVE"

NOTE 1: all new maps Zeditor saves starting with folder levela0 to levelf9 – letters from A to F. Each letter have 10 folders beginning from 0 – a0, a1, etc. So first level will be in levela0, second in levela1 etc.
If this first preservation (the first line of the list "Available Slots"), the data of a level will appear in a folder levela0.

NOTE 2: ZEditor at preservation of a level creates in folders a standard set of files, same as in game levels. For example for a folder levela0:
- BRIDGE**. DAT (information on bridges)
- BUILD**. DAT (information on factories)
- CPUPLR**. DAT (information on territories, AI, starting groups)
- LEVEL**. MAP (graphic data)
- OBJECT**. DAT (objects - from cactus, up to free tanks)
- Level**.exp (only specifies executable file ZEditor for a level**)


2. To remove files from a folder ZEditor where kept a level (for an example levela0 -- BRIDGEa0, BUILDa0 and etc). Do not delete only file level **.exp (for an example levela0.exp).

3. Copy all files from a level of game (take for example LEVEL01) up to a folder with files of a level ZEditor (for example levela0).

4. Change name files (for an example we took LEVEL01 and moved it to a folder levela0):
Last: ___________ Modification:
BRIDGE01. DAT => BRIDGEa0. DAT
BUILD01. DAT => BUILDa0. DAT
CPUPLR01. DAT => CPUPLRa0. DAT
LEVEL01. MAP => LEVELa0. MAP
OBJECT01. DAT => OBJECTa0. DAT

Dinner is ready =)
Now you can open a game level instead of kept by the editor.
Meeky
Captain
Captain
Posts: 137
Joined: 2009-02-05, 11:18
Location: Russia

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby Meeky » 2009-02-05, 11:40

Actually, there is more simplier way to load standard levels.
At first, as BallWin said, you need to save custom map, first slot will be written in folder LEVELA0.
Go to that folder and edit file LevelA0.exp - you need to change flie names in it to comply with the file names of standart level. For example, to edit first standard level change all occurences of a0 in file LevelA0.exp with 01 (e.g. bridgea0.dat will become bridge01.dat and so on). And finally, copy files of original level folder LEVEL01 to folder LEVELA0.
WinZMod - mod for playing Z with high screen resolution
ZEdMod - ZEditor mod allowing to edit single player levels
ZGFX - Utility for extracting Z graphic
ZStats - Small utility for fine-tuning unit statistics
Z-Remake - XNA project on 2D IceCream Engine
BallWin
Major
Major
Posts: 195
Joined: 2006-10-24, 02:24
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Where to Download ZEditor?

Postby BallWin » 2009-02-05, 19:38

Meeky wrote:Actually, there is more simplier way to load standard levels.
At first, as BallWin said, you need to save custom map, first slot will be written in folder LEVELA0.
It is not so actual :)
Version 0.938 ZTools carries out export from the editor in game and import from game in the editor for some seconds. If to use the choice "Make Output Folder".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest