The Zod Engine

Discussions, requests and appeals to lay open the Z source code

Moderator: Brad

User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2010-11-22, 12:24

Thanks phil =). You can scroll with the arrow keys or by clicking the mini map for now. And yes I was looking to make the controls a more modern style. When you are at the launcher you can choose for it to be either windowed for full screen, and then you can choose what resolution you would like. If your monitor does not support that resolution full screen then there may be some empty space shown. If you are playing in windowed mode though you can just maximize the window.

Right now I am buying the furniture for my new office as nighsoft will be going full time around the 6th of december. The Zod Engine is number one on the list to be finished and when I am working full time I am as fast as the devil :wink: .
Image Image
User avatar
XStrategy
Major
Major
Posts: 155
Joined: 2005-11-26, 12:49

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by XStrategy » 2010-11-26, 06:13

Sounds great!! We'll all be helping with betatesting. Please let us use the controls we loved in original Zed and the easy scroll with mouse like in Z
Z and only Z1
User avatar
Phil K
Laser
Laser
Posts: 33
Joined: 2005-06-26, 14:47
Location: Newcastle UK

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by Phil K » 2010-11-27, 23:43

Phil K wrote:I can only thank you for the wonderful, and valuable work you are doing.
I do have some problems, the game won't scroll, and I have to actually select an area from the right hand side. To get the grunts to move, I have to right click - was this intended ? Is there a way to increase to full screen ? It currently takes up maybe two thirds.
But at least Im on the right track, thanks to your great work !
Actually now it ISN'T working.
I put a new hard drive in, and this doesn't work anymore.
A white screen, with some red robots glimpsed, some blue, some cactii,
Disappointed. :cry: :cry:

On the plus side, Z Steel Soldiers is working now. Weird.
Last edited by Phil K on 2010-11-28, 00:05, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Phil K
Laser
Laser
Posts: 33
Joined: 2005-06-26, 14:47
Location: Newcastle UK

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by Phil K » 2010-11-27, 23:44

FreakNigh wrote:Thanks phil =). You can scroll with the arrow keys or by clicking the mini map for now. And yes I was looking to make the controls a more modern style. When you are at the launcher you can choose for it to be either windowed for full screen, and then you can choose what resolution you would like. If your monitor does not support that resolution full screen then there may be some empty space shown. If you are playing in windowed mode though you can just maximize the window.

Right now I am buying the furniture for my new office as nighsoft will be going full time around the 6th of december. The Zod Engine is number one on the list to be finished and when I am working full time I am as fast as the devil :wink: .
I'll be rooting for you, mate.
You are our great hope !
Hope to God I can get your current one running tho'
User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2010-12-06, 16:13

Well you should try running it in software rendering mode (the no opengl flag). But ya I am back from trip now so I should be getting back to work soon =). I did get quite sick at the end of the trip though so that will slow me down for awhile.
Image Image
User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2010-12-15, 19:27

Nighsoft is now full time and working rigorously to finish the zod engine. Currently we have just finished an online user database so that players can see the high score lists of everyone who plays. Also we have just installed an online history tracker of how many people have played throughout the day. If you are interested in the future of Z and anything and everything it can become then please keep a close watch on the zod engine because things are going to be happening really fast and probably daily for it from here out.

Zod Engine Project Page: http://zod.sourceforge.net/
Zod Engine Forums: http://zod.sourceforge.net/phpBB3/index.php
High Score Page: http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_users
Online History Page: http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_chart
Image Image
User avatar
XStrategy
Major
Major
Posts: 155
Joined: 2005-11-26, 12:49

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by XStrategy » 2010-12-30, 22:07

This is awesome FreakNigh! Works in Win7 as well!! easy to install! I played against real people today!! WOW. Good job! Guys, join the game!!
Z and only Z1
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 331
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by KISSMAD » 2010-12-31, 02:35

Is it possible to play against the computer yet?
User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2010-12-31, 21:11

Yes AI has been around is the beginning of october. Lately there has been about 3 to 5 players playing on the main online server a day and we are still actively developing / bug fixing. The game is mostly in a bug fixing stage right now. You should check it out - http://zod.sourceforge.net

You should also check out all the links from the nighsoft page pertaining to the main online server such as the high score list and online history chart -
http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_users
http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_chart
Image Image
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 331
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by KISSMAD » 2011-01-01, 00:23

FreakNigh wrote:Yes AI has been around is the beginning of october. Lately there has been about 3 to 5 players playing on the main online server a day and we are still actively developing / bug fixing. The game is mostly in a bug fixing stage right now. You should check it out - http://zod.sourceforge.net

You should also check out all the links from the nighsoft page pertaining to the main online server such as the high score list and online history chart -
http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_users
http://www.nighsoft.com/index.php?page=zod_chart
I installed the latest version and it loads 100% then nothing. If I click the mouse button the game crashes or closes.
User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2011-01-01, 09:26

Did you use the local settings preset or the nighsoft settings preset? What is the output from the text window?

... Okay on my girlfriend's computer (not mine) it will crash if you run full screen (which is default). But it will not crash if you run it in windowed mode. Try playing around with different checkbox settings in the engine settings box liked windowed mode or no opengl. I was also able to fix it by changing the resolution to something that was accepted by the machine (800x600).
Image Image
User avatar
XStrategy
Major
Major
Posts: 155
Joined: 2005-11-26, 12:49

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by XStrategy » 2011-01-01, 22:47

Is it possible to play against the computer yet?
AI is pretty tough and advanced comparing to weak AI in the original Zed.

Dont use full screen in Win7, instead choose -W windowed mode upon the start of the game!! Have fun!!
Z and only Z1
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 331
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by KISSMAD » 2011-01-02, 02:02

When the game loads I can not select anything. The game just plays itself. It does not matter what colour I choose the units to be because they are always red and blue.
User avatar
FreakNigh
General
General
Posts: 256
Joined: 2009-12-23, 22:41
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Contact:

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by FreakNigh » 2011-01-02, 11:01

It sounds like you've turned on the red and blue bot players. I would suggest this, close the zod launcher and restart it fresh. Press just the "Local Game" Preset. Then click the "Is Windowed" box. Now click the Launch Zod Engine button. This will set you up with a basic original Z-like campaign game through the original first 20 levels.

When you do this your "Command Arguments" should read this -

Code: Select all

zod_engine.exe -l map_list.txt -n zlover -t red -r 800x484 -w -b blue
If it doesn't read that then you can also just copy paste that line into the command arguments and then click the launch zod engine button.

:cheers:
Image Image
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
Posts: 331
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Re: The Zod Engine

Post by KISSMAD » 2011-01-02, 13:19

No I always select the green and yellow for myself and the bot.

I do get this error:
ZTeam: : Could not load palette for the null team:'assrts/team/null_palette.bmp'

I still cannot select any unit to play the game.
Attachments
zcolour.jpg
zcolour.jpg (57.29 KiB) Viewed 6133 times
Post Reply