This is how I got Z (not z95) to work on XP

Post any issues here having to do with playing, installating or configuration of the game.

Moderator: Brad

This is how I got Z (not z95) to work on XP

Postby KISSMAD » 2005-06-25, 03:18

UPDATED 30 April, 2013

With DOSBox 0.74, the intros and cut scenes now play.

I would like to give thanks to Devilsadvocate from Vogons forum. Most of the information came from a post that Devilsadvocate made. Also thanks to un[skill3d from the same forum for the post about the "main.pac" error. Also to The_Drummer for getting me to update this tutorial. :)

If you try the tutorial, please post here and let me know if it works for you. If you have problems please post here also, so that I can keep this tutorial up to date with the problems that arise.

Please read all of the tutorial below before attempting this. Try it at your own risk.

1a. Download and install the latest version of DOSBox. Recommended version of DOSBox which are most compatible for playing Z are 0.65, 0.62 and 0.61.

1b. If you get the error message "'mane.lbm' is missing, please insert CD", Download and install DOSBox 0.65 or DOSBox 0.62 instead of using DOSBox 0.63.

2. Where you installed DOSBox there is a file called "dosbox.conf" make a backup of it. [optional]

3. Open notepad and copy the following code

Code: Select all
[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitiviy -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.

fullscreen=true
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.

language=
memsize=128

[render]
# frameskip -- How many frames dosbox skips before drawing one.
# snapdir -- Directory where screenshots get saved.
# scaler -- Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
# Supported are none,normal2x,advmame2x

frameskip=0
snapdir=snaps
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millsecond.
# Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad!

cycles=11000

[mixer]
# nosound -- Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate -- Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will
# probably lower their sound quality.
# blocksize -- Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering
# but sound will also be more lagged.
# wavedir -- Directory where saved sound output goes when you use the
# sound record key-combination, check README file.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=3500
wavedir=waves

[midi]
# mpu401 -- Enable MPU-401 Emulation.
# device -- Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# This can be default,alsa,oss,win32,coreaudio,none.
# config -- Special configuration options for the device.

mpu401=true
device=default
config=

[sblaster]
# sblaster -- Enable the soundblaster emulation.
# base,irq,dma -- The IO/IRQ/DMA address of the soundblaster.
# sbrate -- Sample rate of soundblaster emulation.
# adlib -- Enable the adlib emulation.
# adlibrate -- Sample rate of adlib emulation.
# cms -- Enable the Creative Music System/Gameblaster emulation.
# Enabling both the adlib and cms might give conflicts!
# cmsrate -- Sample rate of cms emulation.

sblaster=true
base=220
irq=7
dma=1
sbrate=22050
adlib=true
adlibrate=22050
cms=false
cmsrate=22050

[speaker]
# pcspeaker -- Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate -- Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# tandy -- Enable Tandy 3-Voice emulation.
# tandyrate -- Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# disney -- Enable Disney Sound Source emulation.

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=true
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[bios]
# Nothing to setup yet!


[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.
# dpmi -- Enable builtin DPMI host support.
# This might help in getting some games to work, but might crash others.
# So be sure to try both settings.

xms=true
ems=true
dpmi=true

[modem]
# modem -- Enable virtual modem emulation.
# comport -- COM Port modem is connected to.
# listenport -- TCP Port the momdem listens on for incoming connections.

modem=true
comport=2
listenport=23

[ipx]
ipx=true

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

mount C C:\Games\z

mount E C:\Games\Z\CD -t cdrom
C:


4. In notepad, paste the text. Go to "Save As" and change the "Save As Type" to "All Files". Name the file "dosbox.conf" without the quote marks. Save this file to where you have installed DOSBox to and click "YES" to overwrite the original file.

5. Install Z onto your hard drive. I've installed Z to C:\Games\z

6. Copy all of the files that are on the Z CD to the hard drive in it's own folder. I've copied mine to C:\Games\Z\CD

7. Make a shortcut of the "dosbox.exe" to the destop and change the icon to the Z.ico that is where you installed the Z game. [this is optional]

8a. Start DOSBox from the shortcut on the desktop and at the prompt type Z and press enter and the game should load.

9a. If you get an error saying that the file "main.pac" is missing, open the "z.bat" file from the game folder into notepad. It should look like this.

Code: Select all
@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:X %1 %2 %3 %4 %5


9b. If your "z.bat" has the /yesuv like it does below, then delete the /yesuv text so that it looks like the code above.

Code: Select all
@Echo Please Wait - Loading ......
@ZED.EXE /CD:X /yesuv %1 %2 %3 %4 %5


9c. Open the "dosbox.conf" file with notepad from where you installed Dosbox. At the bottom of the file, It should look like this.

Code: Select all
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

mount C C:\Games\z

mount X C:\Games\Z\CD -t cdrom
C:


10. Change the letter X in both the "z.bat" and "dosbox.config" to the letter of your CD/DVD drive. IMPORTANT. Both of the X's must be the same otherwise you will still get the "main.pac" file is missing error message. If you have more than 1 CD/DVD drive, try them all. Overwrite both files if you have changed anything.

11. If the game play is too slow or too fast, just press "CTRL F11" to slow the game down or "CTRL F12" to speed the game up. Press these until you get the speed that you like and don't press "CTRL F11" or "CTRL F12" again.

12. Quit the game. If you can't see the desktop, press the "Windows" key if you have one.

13. There should be a dos window open with "CPU:XXXXX cycles" where X is a number. Everytime you pressed the "CTRL F11" or "CTRL F12" it is displayed here. Go to the last "CPU:XXXXX cycles" that is displayed at the bottom of the list. Write down the numbers that are displayed in the last entry. Mine is "11066"

14. Open the "dosbox.conf" file with notepad.

15. Go down to where you see this.

Code: Select all
[cpu]
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millsecond.
# Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad!

cycles=11000


16. Change the numbers after the = to the same numbers that you wrote down. Mine would look like this.

Code: Select all
[cpu]
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millsecond.
# Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad!

cycles=11066


17. Save the file.

You should not have to press the "CTRL F11" or "CTRL F12" again to change the speed of the game.

18. Now start DOSBox and the game should load.

19. If you don't have sound, download this and install. http://sourceforge.net/projects/vdmsound/

Hopefully this will get the game working for you on Windows XP.

Bruce
Last edited by KISSMAD on 2013-04-29, 17:44, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-06-25, 03:31

I have windows 2000 and it also works on that. Image
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Will try this - hope it works !

Postby Phil K » 2005-06-26, 14:55

Unfortunately, I'm off to work now, and tomorrow am into hospital for an operation on my foot. So I'll not be able to try it out for at least a week. But, oh yes - I'll be trying it all right. I love Z and never bother with the crappy follow up. Its been frustrating that no-one has ever given a step by step for getting Z to work on XP until now - and that includes Dosbox forums. They assume you know how to operate it as is.

I don't.

So a big thanks for this - I'll tell you in a week or so (hopefully) how I got on.
User avatar
Phil K
Laser
Laser
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2005-06-26, 14:47
Location: Newcastle UK

Re: Will try this - hope it works !

Postby KISSMAD » 2005-06-26, 15:36

Phil K wrote:Unfortunately, I'm off to work now, and tomorrow am into hospital for an operation on my foot. So I'll not be able to try it out for at least a week. But, oh yes - I'll be trying it all right. I love Z and never bother with the crappy follow up. Its been frustrating that no-one has ever given a step by step for getting Z to work on XP until now - and that includes Dosbox forums. They assume you know how to operate it as is.

I don't.

So a big thanks for this - I'll tell you in a week or so (hopefully) how I got on.


No probs Phil K. Hope the operation goes OK for you. :)

I agree it is frustrating that there has not been a step by step guide for getting Z to work on Windows XP. When I started the "research" to getting Z work on XP, I took notes along the way so that in the advent that I format my hard drive I would have a tutorial on how to get Z up and running without any hassles.

I had this tutorial on another forum and Goerge asked me to put it here. Hopefully it will work for everyone that tries it.

Bruce
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-06-29, 00:36

Do you also have a solution for Z Expansion, cause that can't run under dos.
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby KISSMAD » 2005-06-29, 11:01

BERSERK3R wrote:Do you also have a solution for Z Expansion, cause that can't run under dos.


I don't have the Z Expansion version. So I can't see how to get it working on XP. Sorry :(
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-06-29, 13:11

Maybe dark_helmet can help you you with the expansion...

http://zzone.lewe.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Zod » 2005-06-29, 22:14

I like Z95 (Z Expansion) a lot. The additional levels are really challenging.

I've tried a lot running it under Windows XP. I used VmWare and MS Virtual PC. It worked ok but it was just to laggy and it is imperative that you can rely on scroll and click speed if you wanna manage the more difficult levels.

I might gonna try the MS Virtual PC next but the only satisfying thing was to get an older PC (undusted it from the basement), put Windows 98 on it connected it to a monitor switch. There you go.

And really, who can't afford (if it isn't for free) an older box these days that just needs to run W98. Ask around, you'll find one, I'm sure.

Best regards,
George
User avatar
Zod
Admin General
Admin General
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 2005-06-23, 21:21
Location: Germany
Are you a spam bot?: No

Postby Klaflefalumpf » 2005-07-20, 16:13

I can get Z working fine, but the sound stutters and even more the higher up I put the cycle rate, any ideas?
Klaflefalumpf
Tough
Tough
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2005-07-20, 11:21
Location: UK, Newcastle.

Postby KISSMAD » 2005-07-20, 19:14

Klaflefalumpf wrote:I can get Z working fine, but the sound stutters and even more the higher up I put the cycle rate, any ideas?



Don't increase the cycle rate as it's speeding up the game and making the audio fall behind. (I think but don't quote me on that) :)

Try the following.

Change your audio settings.
Midi music driver, change from a Sound Blaster to mpu401/General MIDI.
Digital audio driver from Sound Blaster to GUS/Gravis


Reducing your audio quality might help.
Edit dosbox.conf and set:

rate=11025
oplrate=11025
rate=11025
pcrate=11025
tandyrate=11025

The above may not work, I havn't tried it cause I don't have that problem.

Bruce
User avatar
KISSMAD
General
General
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2005-06-24, 16:53
Location: Australia

Postby AMD » 2005-07-23, 21:52

Can anyone help me: where i can download full version game "Z".

Thanks

p.s. tried "Z" demo version with dosbox - works :)
AMD
Psycho
Psycho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005-07-23, 21:18

Postby BERSERK3R » 2005-07-24, 01:24

AMD wrote:Can anyone help me: where i can download full version game "Z".

Thanks

p.s. tried "Z" demo version with dosbox - works :)


Try contacting dark_helmet
User avatar
BERSERK3R
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:31
Location: The Netherlands

Postby AMD » 2005-07-24, 10:29

BERSERK3R wrote:
AMD wrote:Can anyone help me: where i can download full version game "Z".

Thanks

p.s. tried "Z" demo version with dosbox - works :)


Try contacting dark_helmet


ok, i will...
AMD
Psycho
Psycho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005-07-23, 21:18

Postby AMD » 2005-07-25, 21:58

damn :?
i downloaded full version of "Z", it cost only ~20Mb. And when i try to run game it writes me that there is no CD in CD-ROM :(

any ideas :?:
AMD
Psycho
Psycho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005-07-23, 21:18

Postby Parlamenter » 2005-07-26, 07:51

Place Z into ?C:\Z? folder only!
Make BAT file with string ?@ZED.EXE /CD:C %1 %2 %3 %4 %5?
Run UVCONFIG.EXE.
Run SETVIDEO.EXE and select AUTOMATIC.
Run SETSOUND.EXE and disable all sounds.
Run Z disable SVGA.
Start new game?
If you did it then carefully enable option by option until crush ;-).
User avatar
Parlamenter
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 2005-07-19, 09:47
Location: USSA

Next

Return to Z and Z95 FAQ and Support